First person to climb the Seven Summits
Patrick Morrow
Canada ()

The first person to successfully climb the "Seven Summits" – the highest peaks on all seven continents, according to the Messner list, which recognizes the highest point in Oceania as being Puncak Jaya in Indonesia, as opposed to the Bass list, which instead states Mount Kosciuszko in New South Wales, Australia – was Patrick Morrow (Canada) who completed the last, Puncak Jaya, Indonesia (Oceania), on 5 August 1986. Morrow climbed the Seven Summits and also Mount Kosciuszko. The Seven Summits are;
Africa: Mt Kilimanjaro 5,894m (19,340ft), Tanzania
Antarctica: Vinson Massif 5,140m (16,863ft), Ellesworth Land
Asia: Mt Everest 8,863m (29,078ft), Nepal/China
Europe: Mt Elbrus 5,642m (18,510ft), Russia
North and Central America: Mt McKinlay 6,194m (20,320ft), USA
South America: Cerro Aconcagua 6,960m (22,834ft), Argentina
Australasia (Oceania): Puncak Jaya (aka Ngga Pulu aka Jayakusuma) 5,030m (16,503ft), Indonesia (New Guinea)