First men on the Moon
Who
Edwin E. "Buzz" Aldrin, Neil Armstrong
What
first first
Where
United States (Mare Tranquilitatis (Sea of Tranquility))
When

Neil Alden Armstrong (b. Wapakoneta, Ohio, USA of Scottish [via Ireland] and German ancestry, on 5 Aug 1930), commander of the Apollo 11 mission, became the first man to set foot on the Moon, on the Sea of Tranquillity, at 02:56 and 15sec GMT on 21 Jul 1969 (22:56 and 15sec EDT-Eastern Daylight Time-on 20 Jul 1969). He was followed out of the lunar module Eagle by Col. Edwin Eugene `Buzz' Aldrin, Jr, USAF (b. Montclair, New Jersey, USA of Swedish, Dutch and British ancestry, on 20 Jan 1930), while the command module Columbia piloted by Lt-Col. Michael Collins, USAF (b. Rome, Italy, of Irish and pre-Revolutionary American ancestry, on 31 Oct 1930) orbited above.

Eagle landed at 20:17 and 42sec GMT on 20 July (16:17 and 42sec EDT) and lifted off at 17:54 GMT on 21 July (13:54 EDT), after a stay of 21hr 36min. Apollo 11 had blasted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, USA at 13:32 GMT on 16 July (09:32 EDT) and was a culmination of the US space programme which at its peak employed 376,600 people and in 1966-7 attained a record budget of $5.9 billion.

Read more:

1969: First Men on the Moon

Buzz Aldrin talks Mars, the Moon and breaking records