USA won the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup, the third time they've lifted the trophy

The 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup gets underway on Friday 7 June when hosts France take on South Korea.

Ahead of the eighth running of the 24-team tournament, we look at Women's World Cup records set by some of the game's best teams and players.

Most Women's World Cup wins

USA are the most successful team in Women's World Cup history, triumphing three times in the seven editions so far. USA won the inaugural tournament in 1991, following up with victory in 1999 and enter this year's World Cup as defending champions after picking up their third win in 2015 when they defeated Japan 5-2 in Canada. 

Just behind USA is Germany with two World Cup wins (2003 and 2007), so victory in France will take them level with the Americans.

Most goals scored in Women’s World Cup matches 

Marta - Women's World Cup

Brazilian striker Marta (Brazil, born Marta Vieira da Silva) is the most prolific goalscorer in Women’s World Cup history, netting 15 times between 2003 and 2015. 

Marta has appeared for Brazil at four FIFA Women's World Cups: 2003 (3 goals); 2007 (7 goals); 2011 (4 goals) and 2015 (1 goal). In 2007, she won the Golden Shoe and Golden Ball awards, for top goalscorer and best player respectively.

Marta is again in the Brazil squad for France 2019 so we could see this record extended during the next month.

Most goals scored in a Women's World Cup tournament

In the first tournament held in China in 1991, Michelle Akers (USA) finished with 10 goals, a record that still stands.

Most appearances

Homara Sawa Women's World Cup

The most appearances in the Women's World Cup by a player is six, first achieved by Homare Sawa (Japan) when she started against Switzerland on 8 June 2015 in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. 

This record was equalled by Miraildes Maciel Mota 'Formiga' (Brazil) the following day at the same tournament. Both players appeared in 1995, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2011 and 2015. The defender appeared in the starting line-up on 9 June 2015, scoring in her country's 2-0 win over Korea Republic.

Formiga is also in Brazil's squad this time around meaning she could appear in her seventh World Cup and hold the record outright if she takes to the pitch at any point during the tournament.

Oldest goalscorer

Formiga Women's World Cup

Formiga’s goal against South Korea in Montreal, Canada, on 9 June 2015 also made her oldest goalscorer in a Women's World Cup.

Highest margin of victory

In the first match of the Women’s World Cup on 10 September 2007, Germany put 11 goals past the Argentinian defence without reply.

Oldest player

Christie Rampone Women's World Cup

When Christie Rampone came on as a substitute for USA vs Japan in the 2015 final aged 40 years 11 days, she set a new record for the oldest player to appear at a Women's World Cup.

Rampone had already become the oldest player at a Women's World Cup when she appeared as a sub against Nigeria in their final group game on 16 June. With the USA comfortably leading Japan 5-2 in the final in BC Place, Vancouver, Canada, she was brought on for the final five minutes of that game on 5 July to extend her record.

This is another record Formiga could take in the 2019 World Cup, being part of the Brazil squad at the age of 41.

Most goals scored in a Women's World Cup final by an individual

Carli Lloyd Women's World Cup

Scoring a hat-trick in a World Cup final is a dream for any young football fan.

USA’s Carli Lloyd has lived that dream, netting three for her country in the opening 16 minutes of the 2015 final against Japan in a 5-2 victory. Her first goal, after 2 minutes 34 seconds, is also the fastest goal scored in a Women's World Cup final.

Lloyd became the first woman to score a hat-trick in a senior FIFA World Cup Final and only the second person after Geoff Hurst of England in 1966. Previously Michelle Akers (USA) was the only female footballer to have scored multiple goals in a World Cup final with a brace in 1991.

Latest goal scored in a Women's World Cup final

Homare Sawa's strike to make it 2-2 in the 117th minute of the 2011 final in Frankfurt, Germany, took the match against the United States to penalties.

Japan triumphed in the shootout, winning 3-1 to capture the nation's first World Cup.

Youngest coach

Vanessa Arauz León Women's World Cup

The youngest coach in a FIFA Women's World Cup is Vanessa Arauz León (Ecuador, born 5 February 1989) aged 26 years 123 days when she managed Ecuador in 2015 during their opening game versus Cameroon at BC Place Stadium, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. 

Vanessa Arauz León is the youngest coach, male or female, in the history of both the men’s and women’s FIFA World Cup tournaments. The youngest coach at a FIFA Men’s World Cup is Juan José Tramutola (Argentina, born 21 October 1902) aged 27 years 267 days when he co-managed Argentina at the 1930 World Cup in their opening game versus France in Parque Central, Montevideo, Uruguay, on 15 July 1930.