Guinness World Records - Officially Amazing

Next RecordPrevious Record

For the record

  • Who: Kathryn Bigelow

  • What: First female to win an Oscar for best director

  • Where:

Kathryn Bigelow (USA) became the first female recipient of an Oscar for best director on 7 March 2010 for her film The Hurt Locker (USA, 2008).

Bigelow beat four other nominees including Quentin Tarantino and her ex-husband, James Cameron.


Records change on a daily basis and are not immediately published online. For the most up to date record information, we welcome your questions via Facebook or Twitter.

Comments below may relate to previous holders of this record.